Trophy

I get what I want.

Do you?

Are you willing to do things you don’t want to do?

I know exactly what you want to hear.

My beautiful lips command your ear.

I weave a tale so sincere,

you’ll barely feel it when you fall.

I only go for quality, I never want it all.

You are only one of many.

To whom I say I haven’t any.

On my chest your little hearts hang.

With all your pieces rearranged.

That smile-

and that pair of eyes.

I’ll take that sense of humor,

but the other one’s thighs.

I get what I want.

I build it from scraps.

Do you have a little more to offer, perhaps?

Just give me some, no one can tell.

I’ll pin your heart to my curling lapel.

A trophy that I’ve known too well,

in line to shine-

until it doesn’t

and when it dulls it simply wasn’t.

________________________________________________

This is my submission to OpenLinkNight Week 103.  Stop by and see what they’re up to at the dVerse~ Poets Pub.  A great site for all kinds of different poetry.

13 thoughts on “Trophy

  1. Reblogged this on Amber Glows of a Slow Burn and commented:

    Still ringing true.

  2. claudia says:

    oh heck…it’s terrible if people want others just as trophies and put the “ideal” person together from many parts, taking only what they want and throwing the rest away.. ugh…breaks my heart..

  3. Rowan Taw says:

    Oh dear, this sounds like my strong will when I was younger!

  4. grapeling says:

    if this is a doppleganger you, then she wears the lashes of a femme fatale, and you have drawn her out into the light. ~ M

  5. I think I understand the sentiment here, and I’d like to think that I’ve transcended such thoughts, but I probably haven’t. Enjoyed this read.

  6. brian miller says:

    On my chest your little hearts hang.
    With all your pieces rearranged.

    i cant help but feel a bit of sadness at taking all the little pieces and trying to put them together…and the thought of hearts as little trophies.

  7. Maggie Grace says:

    Thanks for visiting me, Amber. This is great writing. Do we all go through a stage where we know exactly how to get what we want before we learn more about life? I agree with, Björn…wonderful words about the lapel.

    • Oh, man, I WISH I’d go through a stage where I know how to get exactly what I want! This poem is about people who use others for what they need and then discard them. I don’t think I’m one of them, but it sounds like it, right? 🙂 Thank you for your time, Maggie!

  8. I’ll pin your heart to my curling lapel..

    oh I like this… great writing.

Leave a Reply

