Radiance

“The possibilities are endless,”

he says, turning to me

I flick my radiance

to another target

and falter in painful revelations.

“Leave me alone,”

he says, turning away.

I ponder greater things

and fall backwards sitting still.

I turn my radiance off.

“I didn’t mean it,”

he says, looking to the floor.

I never mean anything.

I catch bits of misunderstanding in my hair

and comb them out

with what I never meant.

“The possibilities are endless,”

he says, leaning back.

I swallow shards of incompetence,

lean back with him,

and close my eyes.

Leave a Reply

